Tapioca Pearls are white balls made from the starch of cassava tubers. They do not contain gluten and are suitable for vegans. They provide a great source of complex carbohydrates. In addition, they are free of sugar, fats or artificial additives. They do not have a particularly potent taste and are therefore very popular as a thickener for sauces or puddings.